House, Govt Agree to Form Working Committee for Mining Bill



Petir Garda Bhwana

  • Font:
  • Ukuran Font: - +
  • TEMPO.CO, Jakarta - Commission VII of the House of Representatives (DPR) and the Ministry of Energy and Mineral Resources (ESDM) agreed to form a working committee to continue the discussion of the mineral and coal mining or minerba bill. The team is set to work next week.

    Head of Commission VII Sugeng Suparwoto said the team comprising officials from ESDM, Ministry of Finance, Ministry of Home Affairs, Ministry of Law and Human Rights, and Ministry of Industry planned to hold a meeting on December 4.

    "We want this [draft] to be completed soon," said Sugen at the Parliament on Wednesday, November 27.

    However, he stopped short of detailing whether the team would continue the discussion of questionable drafts that had been set by the previous council or review it following the public demand.

    The decision will be taken by the working committee, but the NasDem politician ensured that the legislative body concerns about the public input, including students and community groups.

    The DPR decided to postpone the ratification of the mineral and coal mining bill before the end of the 2014-2019 period. The regulation, which was discussed in line with other strategic regulations such as the Corruption Eradication Commission (KPK) bill, was met by public rejection.

    University students staged mass demonstrations demanding that the rules be canceled and reviewed. The intense situation forced the government to send a postponement letter of the discussion of several bills.