Wednesday, 11 December 2019

3 Provinces Proposed as New Capital City

  • Font:
  • Ukuran Font: - +
  • TEMPO.CO, Jakarta - The National Development Planning Agency (Bappenas) has submitted the report regarding the relocation of the capital city to President Joko Widodo or Jokowi.

    Bappenas head Bambang Brodjonegoro said that the first phase would be focused on selecting a location. Three provinces that are to be selected as the new capital city are Central Kalimantan, West Kalimantan and East Kalimantan.

    Read: Palangka Raya Prepares Land as Govt Plans to Move Capital City

    "Among the factors to be considered is the size of the available land, meaning that it must not involve providing compensations. Next is the risk and possibility of natural disasters. The third one is infrastructure," said Bambang.

    After submitting the preliminary assessment, Bambang went on, Bappenas will wait for further instructions from President Jokowi.

    Read: DPD Chairman : Palangkaraya Qualified as Capital City

    Bambang added that realizing the plan would need commitment from the government and political support. The plan is expected to create a new economic center other than Jakarta and other cities in Java.

    One of the most likely city to be chosen as the new capital is Palangka Raya, Central Kalimantan, which was once proposed in President Soekarno’s era.