New Normal, 29 Conservation Areas Reopened



Laila Afifa

  • Font:
  • Ukuran Font: - +
  • TEMPO.CO, JakartaThe Environment and Forestry Ministry allows the reopening of 29 conservation areas for the public with strict health measures to prevent coronavirus transmission.

    The conservation areas are national parks, nature parks, and natural reserves.

    “The visit procedure is set based on the specific condition of the conservation area referring to the health protocols,” said Wiratno, a Director-General of the ministry’s Natural Resource Conservation and Ecosystem, in a written statement on Thursday, June 25.

    The health measures include limiting the visitors starting from 10, 30 until 50 percent from average regular visitors, the implementation of physical distancing, until the health check based on the health certificate. Not to forget the rules to wear a mask, the availability of handwashing stations, body temperature check, and the one-day-only hiking policy.

    The management of national parks, natural parks, and natural reserves must conduct simulation, testing, training, as well as the dissemination of the Covid-19 prevention protocols and visitors' regulations. For those who violate the protocols will be sanctioned with a ban to enter the areas.   

    “Violators may also be imposed with social work sanction such as, planting seeds, cleaning up the conservation area, collecting trash, and uploading a promotional post on social media,” said Wiratno. 

    Read: Pandemic, Indonesian Zoos Open Donation to Feed Animals

    The following is the list of conservation areas that will start the operation in the new normal era based on the director-general’s issuance on June 23: 

    Kepulauan Seribu (Thousand Islands) National Park

    Mount Halimun Salak National Park 

    Mount Gede Pangrango National Park

    Mount Ciremai National Park

    Mount Merbabu National Park

    Mount Merapi National Park

    Bromo Tengger Semeru National Park

    Alas Purwo National Park

    Meru Betiri National Park

    West Bali National Park

    Kutai National Park

    Tambora National Park

    Mount Rinjani National Park

    Manupeu Tandaru National Park

    Laiwangi Wanggameti National Park

    Kelimutu National Park

    Komodo Island National Park

    Angke Kapuk Natural Park

    Mount Papandayan Natural Park

    Cimanggu Natural Park

    Volcanic Crater Tangkuban Perahu Natural Park

    Guci Natural Park

    Telogo Warno or Pengilon Natural Park

    Grojogan Sewu Natural Park

    Volcanic Crater Ijen Merapi Ungup-Ungup Natural Park

    Sangalaki Island Natural Park

    Lejja Natural Park

    Manipo Natural Park

    Riung 17 Pulau Natural Park