The Heads of State in President Jokowi's Inauguration Ceremony



Petir Garda Bhwana

  • Font:
  • Ukuran Font: - +
  • TEMPO.CO, Jakarta - The inauguration ceremony of President Joko “Jokowi” Widodo and Vice President Ma’ruf Amin, was held on Sunday, October 20, which was attended by a number of heads and deputies of state from mostly ASEAN countries. 

    Indonesian Ambassador to Cambodia, Sudirman Haseng, confirmed to Tempo the attendance of Cambodian Prime Minister Hun Sen in Jakarta. The PM also shared a video of his attendance at the ceremony on his Facebook account.

    Other leaders who attended the swearing-in of Jokowi’s second presidential term include Prime Minister of Singapore, Lee Hsien Loong; Prime Minister of Malaysia, Mahathir Mohamad; Brunei Darussalam’s Sultan, Hassanal Bolkiah; Myanmar’s Vice President Henry Van Thio; and VP of Vietnam Dang Thi Ngoc Thinh. 

    Non-ASEAN country leaders who attended the ceremony were; Prime Minister of Australia Scott Morrison; King of Eswatini Mswati III; and Vice President of the People’s Republic of China Wang Qishan.

    President Jokowi notably mentioned in his inaugural speech upon reaching the country’s development program, economic transformation, and shifting away from dependence toward natural resources into economics that can compete in manufacturing and modern services.