Jokowi Agrees on Provincial Division in Papua, West Papua



Laila Afifa

  • Font:
  • Ukuran Font: - +
  • TEMPO.CO, Jakarta - President Joko Widodo or Jokowi has agreed on the provincial division (pemekaran) in Papua and West Papua as requested by Papuan figures during a meeting in the State Palace, Jakarta, on Tuesday, September 10.

    During the session, they demanded the President carry out the administrative division to five areas. However, Jokowi only agreed on two or three regions.

    “I agree, but perhaps it will not be five, but two or three regions,” Widodo said.

    According to the president, a thorough study is necessary to commence a regional division as there are regulations concerning the matter. “This requires a study because it is ruled by the law, and I’m pleased to hear the suggestion from grassroots,” he added.

    A total of 61 Papuan and West Papuan consisted of religious figures, customary figures, communities, and students attended today’s session.

    They proposed nine demands to Jokowi, viz. provincial division, the formation of a national agency for land affairs, recruitment of Papuan as echelon I and II in ministry offices, and construction of a national dormitory for Papuan students across the country.

    They also asked for an amendment of law on special autonomy to be listed in the 2020 national legislation program, issuance of presidential instruction about promotion of temporary workers to be civil servants (PNS), immediate resolution of eastern palapa ring in Papua, inauguration of customary institutions, and construction of state palace in the province.