English Version
| Friday, 16 November 2018 |
Indonesia Version

Friday, 16 November 2018 | 20:08
Govt Introduces New Economic Package to Boost Growth The government launches this policy in hopes of stepping up
direct investments in startups and bolstering up economic
Friday, 16 November 2018 | 19:22
Wiranto Recalls Late Daughter in Granddaughter`s Funeral Minister Wiranto recollects the life of her late daughter who
died as a child during the funeral procession of his
granddaughter, Ahmad Daniyal.
Minister Susi Receives Peter Benchley Ocean Awards
Friday, 12 May, 2017 | 19:50 WIB
Minister Susi Receives Peter Benchley Ocean Awards

TEMPO.CO, Jakarta - The Maritime and Fisheries Minister Susi Pudjiastuti received the 2017 Excellence in National Stewardship award from Peter Benchley Ocean Awards for her visions and policies in the economic development and ocean conservation.

Susi received the award in Washington DC, US, on Thursday, May 11, 2017. “I believe that we have done the right thing. Based on the economic parameter, it’s outstanding,” she said in a press release received by Tempo on Friday, May 12, 2017.

In her speech, the minister said that the award was a proof that Indonesia has done the right thing. Susi explained that her policies had positive impacts on the maritime and fishery sector. One of the policies bans the use of environmentally unfriendly fishing tools.

Susi viewed that the policies have restored the Indonesia’s fishery sector. “The war against illegal fishing is a profitable war,” she claimed.

Despite pressures in making the policies, Susi said that she remained assertive and consistent to make the ocean the future of the nation. “Sometimes, pressures force people to compromise. But I hope this will never happen. President Joko Widodo understands that these policies are good,” Susi added.

Peter Benchley Ocean Awards is the highest international award presented to not only policymakers but also general public who provide the significant contribution to ocean conservation.

Other names listed as the recipient of the awards are Dr. Ben Halpern and Dr. Ussif Rashid Sumaila in the science category, Joshua S. Rechert and Pew Chartibale Trusts’ Ocean group in the sustainable ocean performance category, Senator Richard Blumenthal and Senator Brian Schatz in the public policy category.


via Facebookvia TEMPO ID


Disclaimer: The views expressed in the comments sections are personal responses that do not represent the editorial policy of tempo.co. Our editorial staff reserves the right to moderate or take down comments that contain harassment, intimidation and discrimination against ethnicity, religion, race, and inter-group relations.