Four New Geothermal Power Plants to Operate This Year

  • Font:
  • Ukuran Font: - +
  • TEMPO.CO, Jakarta - The Energy and Mineral Resources Ministry is targeting to have four new geothermal power plants operating this year.

    The four new plants will have a combined capacity of 215 MW, and raise Indonesia's installed geothermal capacity to 1,858 MW.

    According to the Directorate General of New Renewable Energy and Energy Conservation's geothermal director Yunus Saefulhak, the power plants are Sarulla Unit II (110 MW) and Sorik Marapi Modular in North Sumatra, Karaha Bodas (30 MW) in West Java, and Ulubelu Unit in Lampung. 

    Indonesia has 29,000 MW of geothermal potential. To date, only 1,643 MW has been utilized.

    Government Regulation No.79/2014 on the National Energy Policy mandates a new renewable energy mix portion of 7,200 MW by 2025.