Indonesia to Promote 5 Outermost Islands to Investors

  • Font:
  • Ukuran Font: - +
  • Perairan Pulau Natuna. Dok TEMPO/ Hendrata Yudha

    Perairan Pulau Natuna. Dok TEMPO/ Hendrata Yudha

    TEMPO.CO, Jakarta - Ministry of Maritime Affairs and Fisheries is set to offer five of Indonesia’s outermost islands on 14 September 2015.

    Those five islands are Simeleu, Natuna, Tahuna, Saumlaki, and Merauke.

    “We’re going to promote the islands,” said Secretary General of the Ministry Sjarief Widjaja in Jakarta on Saturday (5/9).

    Sjarief added that the Ministry the move was aimed at attracting investors and it is expected that with investment in fisheries and maritime fields, those islands could serve as the base of fisheries industries and rejuvenate economy of the locals.

    “We will also prioritize local workforce,” he added.

    Meanwhile, as an initial step to attract investors, Sjarif said that the Ministry would be assisted by Public Works and Public Housing Ministry in preparing basic infrastructures  The infrastructures include seaports, airports and clean water supply.

    In the meantime, lands to build maritime and fisheries industries such as cool storage would also be provided.

    In the next five years, Sjarief added that the Ministry would also promote 31 out of 92 outermost islands in Indonesia, while the remaining 61 uninhabited islands would be developed later on.