Jokowi-Kalla Sets Up a Cabinet

  • Font:
  • Ukuran Font: - +
  • TEMPO/Dhemas Reviyanto

    TEMPO/Dhemas Reviyanto

    TEMPO.CO, Jakarta - President-elect for the 2014-2019 period,  Joko "Jokowi" Widodo, formed a special team that is currently setting up his cabinet line-up. The team will identify individuals who are seen as capable of solving the problems in each ministry. "When it's finalized, then they' will submit the list to me," said Jokowi at the Jakarta City Hall yesterday.

    He said his cabinet would be filled by professionals. Meanwhile Vice-President-elect Jusuf Kalla, added that experts could serve as the ministers of finance, energy and mineral resources and state-owned enterprises. "Professionals can fill 15 ministerial posts, while the remaining 20 can be chosen from parties or other groups," he said.

    Jokowi and Kalla, who won 53.15 of the votes, was declared the winner of the recent presidential election by the General Elections Commission (KPU) on Tuesday night. Their competitor, Prabowo Subianto and Hatta Rajasa, received 46.85 percent. Jokowi and Kalla will be sworn in on October 20 to replace President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono and Vice President Boediono. Before that, Jokowi must resign from his position as Jakarta governor.

    Parties supporting Jokowi and Kalla during the elections are expected to propose names of their party leaders to fill cabinet ministerial posts. According to Tempo sources, the National Democratic (NasDem) Party has proposed Ferry Mursyidan Baldan, the party's campaign chairman, and Patrice Rio Capella, the secretary general, to be in the cabinet.

    People close to Megawati Soekarnoputri, the Indonesian Democratic Party of Struggle (PDI-P) chairperson, such as Hendropriyono and Luhut Pandjaitan, are also on the list. From PDI-P, the secretary general, Tjahjo Kumolo and Rieke Diah Pitaloka, a member of the health commission at the House of Representatives (DPR) were also mentioned. However, Rieke refused to comment on the information. "What's important is that I was re-elected DPR member," she said.