Today's Longest Lunar Eclipse Can Be Observed in Indonesia; Here's How

Translator:

Editor:

Laila Afifa

  • Font:
  • Ukuran Font: - +
  • TEMPO.CO, JakartaThe longest partial lunar eclipse in nearly six centuries can also be observed in Indonesia today, November 19. According to NASA, the six-hour-long phenomenon can be observed anywhere so long the skies are clear.

    In Indonesia, the Meteorology, Climatology, and Geophysics Agency (BMKG) recorded that the eclipse will start at 13:00 Western Indonesian Time (WIB), 14:00 Central Indonesian Time (WITA), or 15:00 Eastern Indonesian Time (WIT).

    The partial lunar eclipse, meanwhile, will start at 14:18 WIB, 15:18 WITA, or 16:18 WIT, and reach its peak at 16:02 WIB, 17:02 WITA, or 18: 02 WIT.

    The phenomenon will end at 17:47 WIB, 18:47 WITA, or 19:47 WIT, and will totally vanish at 19:05 WIB, 20:05 WITA, or 21:05 WIT. 

    The entire event will be six hours, one minute, and 29 seconds long, making it the longest partial lunar eclipse since February 18, 1440.

    The observations can be made directly with naked eyes such as seeing the full moon. However, using telescopes, observers can directly compare the process of the phenomenon from the beginning with a more detailed view. Meanwhile, to record the moment, observers can use digital or mirrorless cameras, and even smartphone cameras.

    Read: LAPAN Warns of Tidal Floods Ahead of Penumbral Lunar Eclipse

    MOH KHORY ALFARIZI | GADGETS NDTV | NASA | NPR