Jokowi to Name Usmar Ismail, 3 Other Figures as National Heroes



Laila Afifa

  • Font:
  • Ukuran Font: - +
  • TEMPO.CO, JakartaCoordinating Minister for Political, Legal, and Security Affairs Mahfud Md said President Joko "Jokowi" Widodo will award the title of national hero to four Indonesian figures.

    The four figures are Tombolotutu from Central Sulawesi, Sultan Aji Muhammad Idris from East Kalimantan, film director Aji Usmar Ismail from Jakarta, and Raden Arya Wangsakara from Banten.

    The title will be honored by the President on November 10, 2021, in coincidence with the National Heroes Day at the Bogor Palace. “The title will be awarded to the families of the deceased at the Bogor Palace,” said Mahfud on Thursday, October 28.

    He explained that the four awardees had inspired the public to build an independent and sovereign Indonesia and were involved in the country’s struggle for independence. “This year, four figures are awarded based on a Presidential Decree,” the Coordinating Minister added.

    Other than due to their historical figures, the government granted the award for regional equity. “The government prioritizes character and regional equity,” he added.

    Mahfud Md also mentioned that the provinces of Central Sulawesi and East Kalimantan have not yet had national heroes thus far. "Central Sulawesi and East Kalimantan have existed since the onset of Indonesia's independence,” he said.

    Read: Heroes' Day; President Jokowi Delivers Uplifting Message in Social Media