Govt Temporarily Bans Entry of Foreign Nationals from India Starting Sunday



Laila Afifa

  • Font:
  • Ukuran Font: - +
  • TEMPO.CO, JakartaThe National Covid-19 Handling and Economic Recovery Committee (KPC-PEN) Chairman Airlangga Hartarto announced that the government has decided to temporarily ban the entry of foreign nationals from India in anticipation of Covid-19 transmission and cases of a new coronavirus variant from the country.

    “The government has decided to stop issuing visas to foreigners who have lived and or visited the country within 14 days,” said Airlangga in an online press conference on Friday, April 23.

    Meanwhile, Indonesian citizens willing to return home and have lived or visited India within the last 14 days are still allowed to enter the archipelago under strict health protocols.

    “The arrival points that are opened are Soetta (Soekarno-Hatta) Airport, Juanda Airport, Kualanamu Airport, Sam Ratulangi Airport, Batam Port, Tanjung Pinang Port, and Dumai Port,” he outlined.

    The government also opens several arrival points via land transportation, such as Entikong, Nunukan, and Malino for the return of Indonesian migrant workers through Malaysia.

    “Indonesian nationals are obliged to quarantine for 14 days at a designated hotel, undergo two PCR tests with negative results that are valid at maximum 2x24 hours before departure. They must also take other tests on the first and thirteenth day of arrival,” Airlangga explained.

    This policy applies to all transportation modes; land, sea, and air. “The rule will be followed up through the Circular of Immigration Director-General and other related institutions. The policy will take effect from Sunday, April 25, 2021. This is a temporary regulation that will be reviewed later,” said Airlangga.

    Read Also: Immigration Comments on Arrival of 117 Indian Citizens in Soekarno-Hatta Airport