Cyclone Seroja; BMKG Issue Weather Warning for 4 Provinces



Laila Afifa

  • Font:
  • Ukuran Font: - +
  • TEMPO.CO, Jakarta - The Meteorology, Climatology and Geophysics Agency (BMKG) announced a severe weather warning for four Indonesian provinces caused by Cyclone Seroja that is forecasted to intensify in the next 24 hours. 

    The provinces that could be affected by this tropical cyclone are Central Java, East Java, Bali, and West Nusa Tenggara (NTB). They could also possibly be facing intense rainfall and thunderstorms. 

    National Disaster Mitigation Agency (BNPB) spokesperson Raditya Jati in a statement on Thursday, April 8, warned that the weather could possibly create tides measuring 2.5-4 meters over Java Island’s south sea, Indian Ocean south of Bali, and East Nusa Tenggara (NTT). 

    The tropical cyclone is showing a tendency to move to the west and southwest direction at the speed of 16 knots (29 km/h), away from Indonesia. The BMKG predicts that Seroja will move away from Indonesia in the morning of Friday, April 9, but could likely gain more speed up to 55 knots.

    The agency warns regional governments to take action that would better mitigate the effects of the tropical cyclone. BMKG calls for the public to remain vigilant and monitor weather updates.

    Read: BMKG Warns of Indirect Impact of Tropical Cyclone Seroja in NTB to C. Java