Task Force Reveals 4 Strategies to Curb Covid-19 in 9 Provinces



Laila Afifa

  • Font:
  • Ukuran Font: - +
  • TEMPO.CO, JakartaThe Covid-19 mitigation task force spokesman Wiku Adisasmito said the government has four main strategies to suppress the Covid-19 positive cases in nine regions, namely Jakarta, West Java, Central Java, East Java, North Sumatra, South Kalimantan, South Sulawesi, Papua, and Bali.

    “First, match the data owned by the central and regional governments in order to make quick decisions,” he said in a press conference at Presidential Palace, Central Jakarta, Tuesday, September 15.

    The second strategy is conducting the police operation, dubbed Operasi Yustisi, which is aimed to uphold the enforcement of health protocols. In this operation, officers will apply criminal regulations to sanction violators.

    Wiku added that the third strategy is improving the management of Covid-19 patients. The government has set a target to reduce the mortality rate and increase the recovery rate. The last strategy is specifically mitigating virus infection clusters in the nine regions.

    "So the mitigation must be more specific to certain areas in the province," he underlined.

    President Jokowi appointed Coordinating Minister for Maritime Affairs and Investment Luhut Binsar Pandjaitan and Covid-19 mitigation task force chief Doni Monardo to handle the pandemic in the nine regions.

    According to Wiku, there are three major targets that must be achieved by Luhut and Doni, such as the reduction in new Covid-19 daily cases, the hike in recovery rate, and the drop in the case fatality rate. “President orders this target to be achieved within the next two weeks,” he remarked.

    Read: Epidemiologist Suggests Jakarta Impose Curfew to Curb Virus Spread