Seven Subdistricts in Pasuruan, East Java Face Drought



Petir Garda Bhwana

  • Font:
  • Ukuran Font: - +
  • TEMPO.CO, JakartaA total of seven subdistricts in Pasuruan Regency, East Java, were experiencing drought. The Regional Disaster Mitigation Agency (BPBD) distributed clean water through tank trucks as a mitigation effort.

    The BPBD Pasuruan Head Tectona Jati said that the seven subdistricts are Lumbang, Winongan, Pasrepan, Lekok, Gempol, Grati and Kejayan.

    “We have known the detailed number of affected families. But there are 21 villages in the seven subdistricts,” said Tectona in Pasuruan on Tuesday, August 11.

    He explained that to minimize the impact of water scarcity, his side had carried out several measures, such as channeling clean water by using the Pasuruan regional budget (APBD).

    “We also coordinate with the East Java provincial administration regarding the clean water assistance that is not covered by the Pasuruan APBD,” Tectona added.

    The BPBD also called on the private parties through their corporate social responsibility (CSR) funds to help distribute clean water to villages suffering drought.

    “The delivery of clean water is not only carried out in the morning and afternoon, but we also channel it in the night,” said Tectona.

    Read also: BMKG Predicts 2020 Dry Season to Peak in August