8 Regions Still Classified as COVID-19 Red Zones in Past Month



Mahinda Arkyasa

  • Font:
  • Ukuran Font: - +
  • TEMPO.CO, JakartaThe national Covid-19 mitigation task force spokesman Wiku Adisasmito, said that there are eight districts that remained classified as red zones in the past month. Red zones are defined as regions with high risk of novel coronavirus transmission.

    These regions are West Jakarta, Central Jakarta, Semarang, Banjar, South Kalimantan's Banjar Baru and Tabalong, and North Sumatra's Medan and Deli Serdang.

    "The status of the areas for the past four weeks does not change," said Wiku in an online press conference from the Presidential Office in Jakarta on Thursday, August 6, 2020.

    Wiku then demanded regional heads, either governors, regents, or mayors to highly pay attention to the pandemic handling in those eight regions.

    "This should be a concern for all people in eight regencies or cities to not be tired in implementing the health protocols of keeping a distance, washing hands, and wearing masks. Because this is the only way we can do to control the virus cases," he underlined.

    Wiku hoped that the eight regencies or cities could switch into the orange or even green zones in the following weeks.

    The Covid-19 task force earlier reported 1,882 new cases on Thursday, August 6, 2020. The new confirmed cases bring the country's tally up to a total of 118,753.