Jokowi Orders Priority COVID-19 Handling in 8 Provinces



Petir Garda Bhwana

  • Font:
  • Ukuran Font: - +
  • TEMPO.CO, JakartaPresident Joko "Jokowi" Widodo has warned his cabinet to prioritize the COVID-19 mitigation in eight provinces reporting high positive cases. They are Jakarta, West Java, Central Java, East Java, North Sumatra, South Sulawesi, South Kalimantan, and Papua.

    “The eight provinces contribute 78 percent of positive cases in Indonesia. The target is clear: decrease the mortality rate as low as possible and increase the recovery rate as high as possible,” said the President in a limited meeting via a teleconference on Monday, July 27.

    He also demanded control in the growth of new infections. “Remember 3T, that is testing, tracing, and treatment, must be conducted massively and more aggressively,” the state head underlined.

    Hospitals with a lack of PCR machines, Personal Protective Equipment (PPE), and other equipment needed for COVID-19 treatment must be equipped immediately, he ordered.

    “The shortage of equipment in hospitals must be dealt with shortly. Establish as effective as possible communication with hospitals, the community, and the region,” Jokowi said.

    Read also: Jakarta COVID-19 Cases Top 19,000