Jakarta Closes 17 Tourist Destinations over Coronavirus



Laila Afifa

  • Font:
  • Ukuran Font: - +
  • TEMPO.CO, Jakarta - Jakarta Provincial Government temporarily shut down 17 tourist destinations to curb the spread of coronavirus or COVID-19. The 2-week closure was done based on Jakarta Governor Anies Baswedan’s instruction to disinfect several recreational areas.

    The closures are started from Saturday to Friday, March 14-27.

    The following is the list of 17 destinations that are closed for two weeks:

    1. The National Monument or Monas
    2. Ancol
    3. The Old Town or Kota Tua
    4. Ragunan Zoo
    5. Taman Mini Indonesia Indah (TMII)
    6. Taman Ismail Marzuki (TIM)
    7. Betawi Cultural Village Setu Babakan
    8. Rumah Si Pitung (House of Si Pitung)
    9. Onrust Island
    10. Jakarta History Museum or Fatahillah Museum
    11. Taman Prasasti Museum
    12. M.H Thamrin Museum
    13. Fine Arts and Ceramics Museum
    14. Textile Museum
    15. Wayang Museum
    16. Maritime Museum
    17. Joang '45 Museum

    Several museums, namely the Jakarta History Museum, Joang ’45 Museum, Prasasti Museum, and M.H. Thamrin Museum will be disinfected. The disinfection will apply to the ticketing counters, computer sets, toilets, etc.

    "The disinfection will also apply to the touchable collections at the museums," said Head of Jakarta History Museum Management Unit, Sri Kusumawati.

    Besides Jakarta, Surakarta Administration also implements efforts to anticipate the spread of coronavirus by closing schools and several tourist destinations, as well as halting or canceling public activities.

    Bram Setiawan