SEA Games 2019; Agus Prayogo Win Gold Medal in Marathon



Laila Afifa

  • Font:
  • Ukuran Font: - +
  • TEMPO.CO, Jakarta - Marathon runner Agus Prayogo finished first in the SEA Games 2019 marathon held at the athletic stadium New Clark City in the Philippines on Friday, Dec. 6. This marks Indonesia’s first gold for athletics. 

    Agus finished the race in 26 minutes and 48 seconds while Thailand athlete Sanchai Namkhet finished second with a 30-second gap to take the silver medal. Malaysian runner Muhaizar Mohamad crossed the finish line 50 seconds later to complete the podium finishers.  

    “I am very excited to present a gold medal for Indonesia,” said Agus following the race. “This is my first gold medal in marathons and first gold for athletics, hopefully, it will be a motivation for fellow countrymen to win more gold medals for Indonesia.”

    Fellow Indonesian Welman David Pasaribu finished the marathon in fourth with a six-minute and 59-second gap to Agus’ time. Meanwhile, in women's marathon, Indonesian Odekta Elfina Naibaho, unfortunately, did not make to the podium for the gold that was won by the Philippines’ Christine Hallasgo. The silver was also bagged by a Philippine Mary Joy Tabal, while the bronze was secured by Vietnamese Hong Li Pham Ti.