BNPB Says 7 Province Experiencing Drought



Petir Garda Bhwana

  • Font:
  • Ukuran Font: - +
  • TEMPO.CO, Jakarta - The National Disaster Management Agency (BNPB) said that seven provinces in the country are experiencing drought. Among the provinces are West Java, Central Java, DI Yogyakarta and Bali.

    "Also East Java, West Nusa Tenggara, and East Nusa Tenggara," BNPB Data, Information and Public Relations director Agus Wibowo said in Jakarta, Tuesday, July 16. 

    According to Agus, there are 79 regencies/cities in the seven provinces experiencing drought; comprising of 1,969 villages in 556 districts.

    The BNPB estimates more districts will experience drought, based on thh Meteorology, Climatology and Geophysics Agency's (BMKG) prediction that the peak of 2019's dry season will occur in mid-August.

    "The BNPB has prepared ready-to-use funds if for areas in drought that require assistance," he said.

    He added that the regional branches of the BPBD continue to overcome drought in collaboration with local governments, non-governmental organizations, social institutions, the business world, and the community by, among others, sending clean water to affected areas.

    "The BPBD also seeks to make drill wells and public hydrants, and hold campaigns to save water," Agus said.