KPU Releases Schedule of 2020 Regional Head Elections



Petir Garda Bhwana

  • Font:
  • Ukuran Font: - +
  • TEMPO.CO, JakartaIndonesian Election Commission (KPU) has released a schedule of the process of 2020 regional head elections (Pilkada). Regional heads in question include governor, regent, and mayor.

    Nine provinces to hold a gubernatorial election are West Sumatra, Jambi, Bengkulu, Riau Islands, Central Kalimantan, South Kalimantan, North Kalimantan, North Sulawesi, and Southeast Sulawesi.

    In addition, regent elections will be held in 224 districts, while mayoral election in 37 cities across 32 provinces in Indonesia.

    Here is the draft stages of regional head elections released via the KPU regulation (PKPU) Public Test of 2020 Pilkada by the commission on Monday, June 24:

    October 1, 2019

    The signing of Regional Grant Agreement (NPHD) to assure budget availability for Pilkada from provincial and district/city administration.

    November 1, 2019 - September 22, 2020

    Public dissemination and technical guidance to Regional KPU

    January 31, 2020 - March 1, 2020

    Formation of district election committees (PPK), subdistrict polling committees (PPS), and polling station working committees (KPPS).

    January 31, 2020

    Election monitoring registration.

    March 26 - 30, 2020

    Submission date of supporting requirements for candidates.

    March 27 - July 17, 2020

    Data and voters list finalization.

    April 28-30, 2019

    Registration date of candidates through regional KPU.

    June 13, 2020

    Announcement of the candidate list.

    June 16-September 19, 2020

    Public campaign and debate.

    September 23, 2020

    Voting day and vote calculation at polling stations (TPS).