Travel Advice Issued, No Threat for Indonesia Tourism, Gov't Says



Mahinda Arkiyasa

  • Font:
  • Ukuran Font: - +
  • TEMPO.CO, Jakarta - Following the May 22 riots, eight countries have issued travel advice for its citizens planning to travel to Indonesia. The countries that have issued the travel advice are Canada, United States, Britain, Australia, Malaysia, Thailand, Singapore, and the Philippines.

    Chief of the Public Relation Division of the Tourism Ministry Guntur Sakti, said that the travel advice is a common and understandable policy from a country that intends to protect its citizens. 

    "It's not a threat for the preservation of Indonesia's tourism," said Guntur on Thursday, May 23, 2019.

    According to Guntur, the travel advice is mainly advising its people to increase awareness and security once that person lands on said country. The other level of this is when a country releases a travel warning, which effectively bans its citizens from visiting a country.

    The United States government issued the advice one week prior to the May 22 riot that was announced by the United States Embassy webpage. The move was followed not long after by the UK, Canada, Australia, and Malaysia.