Thursday, 17 October 2019

Jakarta Qualifies as Halal Tourist Destination



Mahinda Arkiyasa

  • Font:
  • Ukuran Font: - +
  • TEMPO.CO, Jakarta - The government recently announced Indonesia's ten provinces that qualified as halal tourist destinations. The provinces are Aceh, Riau Islands, West Sumatra, Jakarta, Central Java, West Java, Yogyakarta, East Java, West Nusa Tenggara, and South Sulawesi.

    In Jakarta, coordinator of the city's Halal Tourism Development Acceleration Team Riyanto Sofyan, said that Jakarta has the most unique characteristic compared to the other nine provinces.

    "Jakarta could potentially promote urban tourism," said Riyanto at the Tourism Ministry Headquarters on Wednesday, February 13, 2019.

    Riyanto said that the Jakarta government can organize an event related to halal lifestyle to promote halal tourism, such as a Hala Tourism Expo.

    "Jakarta is the country's capital, every infrastructure is well-developed, both general [infrastructure] or halal [infrastructure]," said Riyanto.

    Riyanto asserted that a halal tourism destination does not have to be strictly religious or bears religious values, but is mainly qualified by the availability of prayer facilities.